Mr Darcy got his wings today

My beautiful Mr Darcy got his wings this afternoon.
He deteriorated today and he was not going to get better.
I, and Darcy’s dad and Darcy’s little hooman boy all cuddled him. He went very peacefully.

thank you so much to everyone who have all thought and prayed for Mr Darcy for days now. You have all been a great comfort to me.

I am going to do another post soon. I would love everyone to read it because it is going to be a celebration of Mr Darcy’s 14 months.

I know Max is taking care of him.

hugs,
Darcy’s Mumma

108 comments on “Mr Darcy got his wings today

  1. We just came over from Oskar’s blog – we are so sorry for you. Our thoughts and prayers are with your family – we send the biggest hugs
    Sally and Paddy

  2. RIP Mr Darcy, you are & will always be forever loved you big beautiful boy xx
    My condolences to you & your family at such a sad time. You all did such a wonderful job in giving him the best & happiest life that he had !! My heart goes out to you all.

  3. Fairwell big boy, we’re so heartbroken that you had to leave your family, forever remembered, you put up one hell of a fight!

  4. I am so sorry to hear of your loss. You went above and beyond for Mr. Darcy and it is obvious he was loved and pampered.

    While there nothing us hoomans can say or do to ease the pain you are feeling now, I hope the wonderful memories you have of Mr. Darcy are a comfort.

    He is running with ease and without pain, waiting for you at the Rainbow Bridge.

  5. Run free like the wind at Rainbow Bridge big guy. We are broken hearted just now but we know you had a whole lifetime of love and fun in your time here and although you fought hard it was simply your time to go. Sometimes the good and great are taken from us too soon – you are at peace now, it’s just hard for those of us who are left behind to say goodbye.

    Mr Darcy’s mumma – please look after yourself and your family and remember that Mr Darcy had a good life. (Our mom has asked that you get in touch via the ‘contact us’ button on the top right hand side of our page if you get a chance.)

    We’ll be playing with you in our dreams Mr Darcy – schnauzer snuggles, JD and Max.

  6. So heartbreaking to loose your baby boy after all you’ve done. We well and truly know how you feel as we, like many others, have been there too…

    You and your family are in our thoughts.

    Run free and without pain big boy. RIP Mr Darcy

    Michael & Val

  7. Dear Mr Darcy’s family,

    We are very sorry to hear that Mr Darcy had to depart. But, we are glad that he went peacefully. As he was given lots of love and care during his fourteen months, he will be with you forever in your heart, giving you lots of love.

    Cookie & Cinnamon and their mum

  8. We are so very very sorry to hear of Mr Darcy’s passing, Please know that you are all in our thoughts and prayers.

    RIP Beautiful Mr Darcy, Forever loved by all, NEVER forgotten

    Hugs
    Nic, Stripe & Nitro

  9. Run free my big friend. I am so glad you were able to hold him and be close as he crossed over the bridge. He fought hard and let you know when he was ready to go.

    Our hearts are breaking.

    Mango Momma

  10. OH NO!!!!!! I can’t believe it!! This was such a horrible shock – we were so happy after the last post to hear that he seemed to be getting better…my heart gave a horrible lurch when I saw the title of this post…I’m fighting back tears now as I type this…I don’t know why but it seems so much more horribly real because we have loved Mr Darcy through this blog and have been following the events of the last few days so closely – I hope this doesn’t sound presumptuous but it felt like Mr Darcy was a little bit our dog too.

    He was such a brave boy and I’m sure he was happy to feel all of you with him, giving him cuddles and love – that is all he will feel and all he will remember. That is the best thing about dogs – they don’t understand and they live in the moment – and as long as they have you loving them, it is a wonderful moment. He is free from pain at last and at peace now, although I know he will have left a huge hole in your hearts. I hope with time, this will start to heal as well. I think it is wonderful that you will be doing a post celebrating his life – I’m sure this is what he would have wanted, rather than us all just mourning him and feeling sad – we should all feel happy that we were privileged to know him – even for a short while.

    Love,
    Hsin-Yi, Paul and Honey the Great Dane

  11. Oh, we are so so sorry to hear this news. Mr. Darcy fought the good fight and you did all that you could for your sweet boy. Having lost a beloved furry this summer, we understand so well how you feel. We had such high hopes for him to recover, but in the end, you just have to do what is best for him. Run free, dear Darcy, how we wish we had met you sooner and had more time to get to know you.

    Hugs, the OP Pack, and their Mom

  12. Oh, we are so sorry. How difficult this must have been for you. So glad you got to spend his last moments together. We will be praying for you.

    Run free with perfect legs, Mr. Darcy.
    Wuv,
    Gus and Waldo

  13. Oh I am so shocked and sad and leaky eyed for you and your big boy! He was such a wonderful guy and I know you all must be lost without him. I know Max is there waiting for him and there is no more wobbling for either of them. So sad! At least he was so loved for his short life which is what every dog deserves.
    Hugs
    Moose + Dana

  14. that hurts very bad and there are no word. you were so good to this brave boy and you did everything in your power for his life. i know it is hard to get your head around it when they are only here for 14 months, but that was his life time.
    Mr. Darcy may not be with you physically but you only need to think of him and there he is right with you again in your heart and memory. Run free Beautiful boy

  15. Damn.. Im at a loss for words..

    I sit here crying and i question why one dog, Ive only known for a little tugs at my heart.

    I think as hes a dane and I know what gentle loving dogs they are, I think Danes dying young compared to other breeds is a consideration I undertook with the girls and it seems so wrong to loose one even earlier, so I have tears of frustration as well.

    I think, as we all were praying so hard for the big guy, I think part is seeing his inner strength as he hung on, but mostly reading within this blog the love he was held in by his family, there inner strength and hope you showed (it mighten feel it but that was inspirational) and in part as he is an Aussie Dane and I related very much.

    I think your vet Jacob is one in a million to take it on and try all he could… I wish I had words to say.. but Im reasurred he was held by arms that loved him and as you say went peacefully. Is an honour to know you and the big guy…x

  16. Hi,

    You don’t know me; I read about Mr. Darcy’s passing at another blog.

    I wish I had “known” Mr. Darcy earlier, but I wanted to send my sincerest condolences. I know how difficult it is: the roller coaster, a child’s grief, the final decision. Please remember that you all did the best you could. And Mr. Darcy loved you so very much and now he is free and without a speck of pain.

    I truly believe you will all see him again. Hugs to you all.

    Heather in MN

  17. We are so sorry.
    Be at peace with the fact that you did everything you could and most importantly, you were with him every moment.
    Our hearts are breaking for you. Run free Mr. Darcy, you won’t be forgotten.

  18. I discovered you through Honey’s Blog and while I didn’t know Mr. Darcy, I just wanted to offer you my condolences on your loss. I know our danes mean the world to us and we are thinking of you in Chicagoland during this sad time for you and your family.

    Kasha & Denise

  19. We are so very, truly sorry for the loss of Mr. Darcy. Please take good care of yourselves and know that Mr. Darcy is running now, wobbler free.

    We will keep you all in our prayers.

    Oskar

  20. We just came over from Honey’s blog and wanted to tell you how sorry we were to hear about Mr. Darcy. We said a little prayer for him, well actually a big prayer for a big boy, when Honey said he was having surgery. I know you will miss him terribly.

    Run free Mr. Darcey! You were very loved in your life and will be with your humans once again someday. Untill then have fun over the bridge and say hi to Kaya for us. She is another Dane friend that we lost this year.

    kisses
    Boxen and Bella

  21. We just saw the sad news on our furiends from OP KS blog –

    Mom and I are furry sorry fur your loss –

    You did all you khould –
    And we know he fought as hard as he khould –

    It just wasn’t meant to be this time –

    We appreciate you sharing him AND sharing your pain too –

    Please know you are in our thoughts –

    Hugz&Khysses,
    Khyra and Her Mom

  22. We are so sorry to hear this. He put up such a good fight, but sometimes the battle is just too hard. Their lives are too short anyway without a problem like he faced. We’ll all be thinking of him.

  23. Such a beautiful boy is gone and we all feel his loss because he was a part of our own family. You did everything right for him, everything you could do to help him was done.

    Missing Mr. Darcy,

    Kisses,
    Stella and her Mom

  24. AAARRUUUU!! Oh Darcy’s mommy, we are so sorry! Mommy’s eyes leak for you too. What a hard decision you had to make but knowing it was the right one. Mommy will keep praying for you to have peace and comfort from the man Jesus that she said Max and Darcy are both running with. Max liked licking my ears, so now he has someone elses ears to lick. AAARRRUUUU!! Sasha the sad Princess

  25. Im sooo sorry to hear this. Honey dog posted about you loosing Mr Darcy. Your blog was the next blog I was going to check out, so will for sure.

    Candle lit and prayers on the way. I know my crew at the rainbow bridge will welcome him with open paws!

  26. Oh Mr. Darcy…Run Free …you’ve earned your angel wings…

    We are so sorry to hear of Mr. Darcy’s journey to Rainbow Bridge…what a handsome boy he was…My mom/secretary’s eyes are all watered up & her nose sniffling cuz its a sad time for everyone…You are all in our thoughts & prayers & we will be looking up to the sky today in honor of Mr. Darcy…

    I know my brother Dublin who is at the Bridge will be happy to show him the ropes & introduce him to lots of our pals who have gone before…

    We love you Mr. Darcy…

    Love & Licks,
    Randi

  27. We had just checked in to see how Mr Darcy was doing and we are so sad to learn about his passing. Our thoughts are with you all and especially your ‘little man’. It must be so difficult for you all.

    This has been a very sad week – know that we are thinking of you all.

    With love from Fiona, Clive and Murray

  28. We are so sorry for your loss! I’m also sorry this is my first visit to your blog (from Honey’s). We wish your family lost of healing vibes and a safe journey for Mr. Darcy across Rainbow Bridge. He was a very handsome boy and will surely be missed.

    ~Princess

  29. We are so very sorry to hear this! Thank you for all you did for him, for loving him and giving him such great care. And thank you for letting us get to know him a little bit.
    Run free, Mr. Darcy! We love you!
    Sending all of you hugs,
    Karen and the Ao4

  30. So sorry to hear Mr Darcy lost his fight. We read about it on the ‘Sploring Wolfies and saw the great poem they did for you. You gave him all you could and now he is running free and isn’t in any pain. That is a good thing. A hard thing to go thru but he was definitely loved in the time he was with you.
    Hugs
    Ernie, Sasha, and their Mom

  31. I learned of Mr. Darcy’s passing from The Chronicle of Woos.

    As a life long pet parent I know that there are few words that can comfort during this time, but I will do my best….

    Remember all the love you gave him
    Embrace the time you had together
    Rejoice in knowing that he made a difference in your life

    My toughts are with you and your family.

    Claudia
    mom to Nellie & Calvert

  32. So very sorry. Just saw the post from OP Pack.
    Yes, run free Mr. Darcy! In a beautiful place with all of our dearly missed woofies. Free of wobbles, and healthy ever after.

    Hugs and snaggle-tooth kisses,
    Sierra Rose and her mom

  33. I am so sowwy MrDawcy couldn’t wecovew. I know he was welcomed by all ouw angels ovew the bwidge and is wunning wif his bootiful long legs and delighting all.
    I pway that youw memowies of all the love you gave each othew will help youw heawt heal
    smoochie kisses
    ASTA

  34. We are so sorry to learn about Mr Darcy crossing the bridge. Our thoughts are with you – we know how hard it is.
    We look forward to reading your tribute to Mr Darcy.
    Take care
    Martha, Bailey & Mum xxxx

  35. Oh no…I cant tell you how sad I am right now to hear of Mr. Darcy’s passing. He was such a beautiful boy, please know you did everything you could for him and now he is strong and stable and running free in a place without pain.

    My heart is aching for you and your family. I will be giving Murphy lots of extra hugs and kisses on this day and we remember your beautiful boy.

    Debbie & Murphydog

  36. We came over from Dana + Moose’s blog. So sorry for your loss, I sit here with my eyes filled up with tears. Just gone thru a rough period with our guy Parker, so I know all the worry you were going thru. May he rest in peace. We look forward to seeing your new blog about your beautiful boy.

    Nika + Parker

  37. We just came over from Mango’s bloggie…we are so very very sorry for your loss….we know he was greeted at the Bridge from so many of our friends who run free there now…

    Our thoughts and prayers will be with you….

    Sad Barks,

    Scruffy, Lacie, Stanley and their Mumsie

  38. We were so very sorry to read that Mr. Darcy lost his battle. But one battle he certainly won was that of being loved every day of his life. We also lost a beloved friend at only 18 months earlier this year. We still miss him terribly, but we are comforted by the knowledge that his every moment with us was full of love.

  39. We are so sorry to hear about Mr. Darcy. We heard while visiting the OP Pack. We are thinking of you during this difficult time.

    Hugs,
    Mochi & family

  40. We are so sorry. It is both hart breaking and the last gift that can be given. You made the correct choice, but that doesn’t mean it feels right.

    Sad Sad licks and head butts,
    Mack and Sally Ann

  41. how are you guys holding up? we have been thinking of you here and just hoping you can remember all the special times with Mr. Darcy—i know it is so hard to loose beloved pets that have such a stronghold on our hearts– giant dogs always seem to have this gift

    of course you can use the little poem! Guinness and i quickly made it up this morning —we wanted to somehow relay that he is no longer held back by his physical restrictions— we are so happy you liked it.

  42. I am so very sorry to hear about the loss of your dear Mr. Darcy. Please know you will be in my thoughts and prayers. Run free and play hard Mr. Darcy…you are now at the Rainbow Bridge.

  43. We just came from Thunder & Phantom’s blog to give a paw and our sincerest condolences to you and family. Even though we didnt get to know Mr. Darcy, we feel like we’ve lost a friend too. We’ve had lots of friends crossed the rainbow bridge recently…Bet they’re all happily running free together over there!!

    Cheers,
    Maxx

  44. I’m very sorry for your loss. I’m in tears now, like many other dog owners must be.

    But I’m sure he gave his best for as long as he could, and he was certainly very happy with your family. My hearts goes on to you all. Much love from Brazil.

  45. We are really sorry about your sad news. Although we didn’t know you guys very well, we see the love for Mr Darcy in the comments of others. Our thoughts and warm wishes are with you – from all of us in South Africa. We hope you are comforted and that the good memories become the fondest.
    With love
    MAXDOG & CO IN SOUTH AFRICA

  46. I just came over from Oskar’s blog to tell you how sorry I am that your Mr. Darcy is no longer with you. It is so sad to lose your beloved dog, and at such a young age. That must make it even harder. My heart goes out to you all.

  47. We have come from Clive’s blog. Although we didn’t know Mr. darcey we do feel the pain of his loss. He was obviously a very loved dog and family member. We will hold him in our prayers and y’all in our thoughts. He will always remain with you in your heart and memories.
    – Homer J., Jubal, J.E.B., Sophie, Shelby Belle, Jack, Abby, Max, Shiloh, Radar, Alex, Boru and Jenny = The Bumpass Hounds and Kitties

    The Last Battle
    If it should be that I grow frail and weak
    And pain should keep me from my sleep,
    Then will you do what must be done,
    For this – the last battle – can’t be won.
    You will be sad I understand,
    But don’t let grief then stay your hand,
    For on this day, more than the rest,
    Your love and friendship must stand the test.
    We have had so many happy years,
    You wouldn’t want me to suffer so.
    When the time comes, please, let me go.
    Take me to where to my needs they’ll tend,
    Only, stay with me ‘til the end
    And hold me firm and speak to me
    Until my eyes no longer see.
    I know in time you will agree
    It is a kindness you do to me.
    Although my tail its’ last has waved,
    From pain and suffering I have been saved.
    Don’t grieve that it must be you
    Who has to decide this thing to do;
    We’ve been so close – we two – these years,
    Don’t let your heart hold any tears.
    – Anonymous

  48. My heart goes otu to you and your family – Mr Darcy was VERY LUCKY to have you as his family. Hugs to all of you – bless you, Mr Darcy. If you see a cute chocolate lab named Sir Buster Bone-a-part Taylor, please give him a wet slobbery kiss from his hoomans ok?

    God Bless – Diane Taylor from Baltimore MD

  49. We are so sorry to hear about Mr. Darcy. No matter how short or long our pets have been with us, it’s always too soon. It’s an awful moment when you realize they are never going to get better, but letting them go is truly an act of loving kindness. We just lost our beautiful Star on Sept. 24th, she was there to greet Mr. Darcy.

    sad woos,
    Jack a-roo and momma Pat

  50. Oh my. I am so sorry to hear of this tragic news. We were really hoping he would pull through.

    Hugs and prayers for your family during this difficult time. May Mr. Darcy run free of pain with his friends on Rainbow Bridge.

  51. We are so very sorry for your loss. We came over from Max and JD’s blog. Our thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.
    Love from Virginia, U.S.A.

  52. I’ve learned of your blog from Lindsay of Life with Big Dogs and have enjoyed following it, learning about Mr. Darcy, and appreciating the love you clearly have for him. Very clearly today is a dark day and Vegas and I are very saddened for your loss. Mr. Darcy is watching over you now, sending you slobbery kisses and loves from beyond. Hang in there. He lives in your hearts and his body is now pain free.

    I’m so sorry for your loss.

  53. I am so miserably sorry. This is just not the news any of us wanted to read and I am sure you and Darcy’s family are so, so sad at this time. Yes, Darcy is in heaven and he can walk and run and remembers all of the love you gave to him and all of the extra care you gave to him and he treasures his time with you just as you do of the days spent with Mr. Darcy.

    My heart is with you during this most sad time in your life.

  54. Hi, there,

    We just wanted to check in with you all and see how you are doing today. I’m hoping that today is just a little bit better than yesterday.

    Hugs and prayers for you,

    Heather and the zoo

  55. Hi – just wanted to pop by again to let you know that we’re thinking of you – I know this must be a really hard time for everyone in your family – hope you’re OK?

    Looking forward to the post celebrating Mr Darcy!

    Hsin-Yi & Honey the Great Dane

  56. I read about Mr Darcy on my friend Big Honey Dog’s blog. I just wanted to drop by and pass on my sympathy for your loss. I know some humans don’t get it, but losing a dog is losing a member of the family, and I can only imagine what you are going through. But you can comfort yourself that you did everything possible to make him comfortable and to extend his life, and that you enriched each other’s lives. RIP Mr Darcy.

  57. sad woofs, soo sorry to hear about Mr Darcy..its very hard when they have to leave us…RIP Mr Darcy, run with the wind..

    a sad,
    rocky
    bear
    angel lacylulu
    and mama..

  58. Oh my goodness, I can’t imagine what you are feeling right now…14 months. Such a short time but it seems as though Mr. Darcy had a great family to spend his time with….one who loved him as he loved them. 🙂

    Nala & Amber

  59. We are sorry we never got to know you, Mr. Darcy, but we are crossing our paws for your family. We know you are running free, now, with a lot of our pals, at the Rainbow Bridge! Have fun playing with all of them…until we meet again.

    Aire-hugs,
    Poppy, Penny & Patches

  60. Oh, that is so sad. Everyone tried so hard and it even seemed hopeful for a little while. He was a beautiful boy and we loved his name. We are sending many, many beagle hugs to you.

    love & wags,
    River & mom & crew

  61. Just checking in and seeing if things are getting any better in the Darcey home. I know it probably doesn’t feel like home without the handsome man there. Sending wishes your way.

Leave a Reply

