love him with food

I, Delta am blogging because Digby has been bitten or stung on the lip by a creature who is most mean and uncaring, but whose identity remains a mystery.

He’s feeling poorly and has had to postpone all his fitness plans. Between you and I readers, I can already see his muscles returning to their previously flabby state. But shhhhh! we won’t tell him that because he is already in a depressive state.

With Digby out of action, and the Little Miss back at school I’ve had more time to focus on self improvement.
I experimented with a new look (see my ears, quite modern/contemporary aren’t they?)

I also took up gardening

and lastly I took up baking. I thought I could cheer Digby up nicely with a cake.

Actually baking turned out to be harder than either gardening or self-grooming!
I learnt several important lessons.
1. if you are going to bake a cake do it when the humans will be gone for a long time so they don’t come home and ruin it.
2. choose pleanty of ingredients because some of them will taste so good that you will eat them straight away.
3. use a bed with sides; this holds all the ingreditents together making it easier to mix than on a flat bed.

Sadly as I was mixing all ingredients together into a smooth consistency, the human came home.
That was it…. my chance was gone; Instead of a cake, all I ended up with was this:

Which didn’t cheer Digby up at all.

I’m never doing that again. All the effort I went too; only to have my cake cleaned up and put in the rubbish bin!
However if you believe you will have more luck than me I have included a list of my Ingredients for a delicious cake free of charge below.

your pal,
Delta

1 kg of almond meal
1.5 kg of brown sugar
6 small containers of raspberry juice
5 packets of beef noodles
and a sweet potato

15 comments on “love him with food

  1. Your heart was in the right place and I think you would have made a great cake if not interrupted. Hope little Digby gets better soon. That looks kind of ouchie.

    Slobbers,
    Mango

  2. Poor Digby, a little Benadryl might help that swelling a lot.

    Hmmm, that sounds like a very interesting cake, Delta. But next time maybe you need to get it going a little faster.

    Happy Sunday.
    Woos ~ Phantom, Thunder, and Ciara

  3. Poor Digby! His face is so swollen! I hope he’s better!
    And Delta! Love the ears! Darwin tries that look once in a while too, but Im never quick enough to get it on camera. And Darwin said to tell you she’s jealous of your apple tree. She’d take the apple tree over the cake, though I can tell you put a lot of effort into that cake! hehehe

  4. Oh my God – I know I shouldn’t laugh but this is the funniest post I’ve read in a while! HA! HA! HA!
    I’m so jealous, Delta – I wish I could have baked my own cake like that too. So far, I have always had to do it as partners with Hsin-Yi and I can tell you, she is a terrible baking partner. Not only does she not let me taste all the ingredients or mix things myself with my paw but she even thinks its funny to smear cream on my nose and laugh at me while I’m trying to lick it off! Really, you’d think we only existed for our humans’ entertainment! 👿

    Anyway, I have to say, I’m impressed at the ingredients you chose for your cake – I hope you weren’t sickie afterwards from tasting so many nice things!! 🙂

    Slobbers,
    Honey the Great Dane

  5. Think on the bright side Diggers – no red socks to wear in public…hope you get better soon and then eat something extra yummy. Delta is doing a great job at distracting the humans – so no worries there.

  6. Think on the bright side Diggers – no red socks to wear in public…hope you get better soon and then eat something extra yummy. Delta is doing a great job at distracting the humans – so no worries there. Zola

  7. Woo, Delta! Aren’t you a thoughtful pup! Were your baking efforts appreciated? How about the help in the garden? You’ve really outdone yourself.
    I love the fashion statement you made with your ears. Ours are pretty boring. Just … you know. Up. That’s the only way we can wear them.
    I sure hope Digby feels better!
    Luv,
    Dave

Leave a Reply

